Press "Enter" to skip to content

Croatia is the Thirteenth Country to Achieve a World Cup Final

Croatia is the Thirteenth Country to Achieve a World Cup Final. Croatia has for the first time in its history placed Wednesday for the final of a World Cup.

The opponent Sunday (at 17h00) in Moscow is France, which is in its third World Cup final (after 1998 and 2006).

Germany is the country that most often reached the final, preferably eight times. They won in 1954 (against Hungary), 1974 (against the Netherlands), 1990 (against Argentina) and 2014 (against Argentina) and lost in 1966 (against England), 1982 (against Italy), 1986 (against Argentina) and 2002 (against Brazil).

Brazil is the record holder with the number of final prizes (5). It also lost the final of 1998 (against France) and the decisive pole-match for the final victory in 1950 (against Uruguay).

Italy is third, regarding the number of finals (4 won versus two lost finals). Argentina played five times the final battle of the World Cup (2 times won versus 3 times lost).

Besides France, the Netherlands also won three World Cup finals (1974, 1978 and 2010). Uruguay (in 1930 and 1950), England (in 1966) and Spain (in 2010) won all the finals they played.

Hungary and Czechoslovakia lost the two finals in which they participated. Sweden also lost its only final battle in 1958.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply